Research Databases

about:books about:books

Information about books and authors.

Use this resource
African American Heritage screen shot African American Heritage

Search records, books, serials, and other historical records specific to African Americans to trace your genealogy or to do research.

Use this resource
american literature collection screen shot American and English Full Text Literature Collections

Electronic books of American and English literature: poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible. For more information, see the Basic Search and Advanced Search tutorial videos.

Use this resource
Ancestry Library edition screenshot Ancestry Library Edition

(In-library use only) U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. You must be in the library to access this database.

Use this resource
Biography reference bank screen shot Biography Reference Bank

Access biographical information on more than 335,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.

Use this resource
Business source premier screen shot Business Source Premier

Boost your business knowledge by researching company and industry profiles, country and market research reports, and magazine articles.

Use this resource
Chilton screen shot Chilton

Fix your car, truck, van, or SUV with these diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, and step-by-step repair procedures.

Use this resource
consumer health complete screen shot Consumer Health Complete

Browse medical, health-related and drug reference books. Read articles on health and fitness. Find sources for alternative health information

Use this resource
early world of learning screen shot Early World of Learning

Three interactive learning environments for preschoolers and children in early grades.

Use this resource
EBSCOhost screen shot EBSCOhost

Search thousands of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos and maps on millions of topics.

Use this resource
explora primary screen shot Explora Primary Schools

A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.

Use this resource
explora secondary screen shot Explora Secondary Schools

Grades 6-12: A far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.

Use this resource
Fold3 screen shot Fold3

A premier collection of historical U.S. military records that brings to life the details of America's military veterans with stories, photos, and personal documents.

Use this resource
HeritageQuest screen shot HeritageQuest

Search census records, books, serials, and other historical records to trace your genealogy.

Use this resource
Hobbies and crafts screen shot Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Find "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.

Use this resource
home improvement screen shot Home Improvement Reference Center

Home Improvement Reference Center features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects.

Use this resource
Kids info bits screen shot Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits is an easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. The modern design and simple navigation make it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching.

Use this resource
literary reference center screen shot Literary Reference Center

Research an author, novel, or poem for school or personal interest. Learn more about a literary movement for book discussions.

Use this resource
lynda.com screen shot Lynda.com from LinkedIn

Self-directed online learning for technology, business, and creative skills. Access more than 12,000 video courses taught by industry experts to help you stay ahead in your current job or change careers.

Use this resource
oxford reference screen shot Oxford Reseach Encyclopedias

Reference content in humanities, social sciences, and science.

Use this resource
points of view reference center screen shot Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this resource provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Use this resource
Sanborn fire insurance maps screen shot Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Find large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods. Study the growth of towns and cities, and the impact of new development

Use this resource
Science reference center screen shot Science Reference Center

Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.

Use this resource
Small business reference center screen shot Small Business Reference Center

Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

Use this resource
transparent language screen shot Transparent Language Online

Learn to speak a new language. Over 100 foreign language courses are available that can help you learn languages including French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese. There's also an ESL component that provides English language learning to speakers of over 25 different languages.

Use this resource
very short introducitons screen shot Very Short Introductions

An excellent way to get a quick authoritative and accessible overview of a subject.

Use this resource
What tree is it screen shot What Tree Is It?

Ohio tree identification guide.

Use this resource
whats that snake screen shot What's That Snake?

Ohio snake identification guide.

Use this resource
what's the point screen shot What's The Point?

Identifying flint artifacts.

Use this resource
world book online screen shot World Book Online

Information resources for pre-school through college.

Use this resource
world book student screen shot World Book Students

Contains an extensive multimedia collection, including editor-selected websites, and correlations to state standards.

Use this resource
world book timelines screen shot World Book Timelines

Build and share timelines. Use your own events and images or add content and images from World Book.

Use this resource
world book kids screen shot World Books Kids

Thousands of colorful illustrations, diagrams, and maps enrich thousands of articles, with teacher guides.

Use this resource